The church building is part of a large sacred complex with an ancient and fascinating history. As early as 1630, a wooden church was built for the Franciscan monastic order, a branch of the Reformed Fathers, on a plot of land provided by Voivodeship Sofia Danylovych, with the efforts of Bishop Jan Prukhnytskyi and the residents of Lviv at that time.
But during the siege of Lviv by Bohdan Khmelnytskyi in 1648, the Church burned down. And the stone temple was built here from 1656 to 1664 and was dedicated to St. Casimir Later, the Church, and monastery were handed over to the "Daughters of Charity" - Sisters of Charity of Saint Vincent De Paul, which were located in this area, next to the Church. The Sisters of Charity ran a shelter for orphans, a hospital where they treated the seriously ill, and also had a small church of St. Francis.
These buildings have been preserved to this day, and they house the academic facilities of the University of Internal Affairs.
Today in the former Church of St. Casimir, there is a Blessed Hieromartyr Klymentiy Sheptytsky Church.
In this Church, sacred exhibits from the sacred collection are alternately exhibited - miraculously surviving ancient icons and crosses. In the room next to it, in the former monastery of the 17th century, is the unique Museum of Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytskyi, which was opened on August 29, 2020. Every day in the museum, you can examine the personal belongings of the head of the Church and learn about his life, ordination as a monk, and spiritual service. The museum is unique in that during the underground life of the UGCC, monks, and laity managed to preserve the Metropolitan's personal belongings.
Entrance to the museum is free.
The museum's expositions are located on the first floor, and all the museum's premises are accessible.